Sun, 07 Jun 2020

5 controversial ANC members who are heading to Parliament Canny Maphanga SHARE THIS 11 minutes ago The secret vote of no confidence in President Jacob Zuma takes place in the National Assembly of Parliament.

The Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) officially handed over the list of 830 elective representatives headed to Parliament to Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng in a handover ceremony at the Constitutional Court in Braamfontein, Johannesburg on Wednesday.

How the ANC plans to block 'rotten apples' from Parliament, Cabinet positions

5. Mosebenzi Zwane

Zwane, who served under Zuma as Minister of Mineral Resources, has also been linked to the Guptas who allegedly facilitated his appointment to the post, according to the now infamous leaked Gupta emails.

The Zondo Commission also heard how Zwane summoned banks to a "fake meeting" in a bid to convince them to save Gupta-linked accounts which they had decided to close.

The four major banks closed the accounts in 2016 due to over 70 listed "suspicious transactions" totalling almost R7 billion, which were recorded by the Financial Intelligence Centre, News24 earlier reported.

Zwane will also be heading to the National Assembly. He is at number 75 on the ANC list.

Find everything you need to know about the 2019 National and Provincial Government Elections at our News24 Elections site, including the latest news and detailed, interactive maps for how South Africa has voted over the past 3 elections. Make sure your News24 app is updated to access all our elections coverage in one place.

- News24 SHARE THIS Read more on: anc | politics | elections 2019 | parliament

More Africa News

Access More

Sign up for The Africa News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!